178 Bag First Class as UNIBEN Graduates 14,254 Students

Out of the 14,254 students who graduated during the 2020–2021 academic session, 178 students received first-class degree honours, according to information released by the University of Benin (UNIBEN) authorities on Thursday.

The university’s vice chancellor, professor Lilian Salami, revealed this to reporters during a press conference in advance of the 48th convocation of the school and the 53rd Founders’ Day Ceremony in Benin City.

Salami stated that 14,254 graduates would receive first degrees, diplomas, certificates, master’s degrees, postgraduate diplomas, and doctor of philosophy degrees during the convocation ceremony, which starts on Thursday.

The Vice-Chancellor gave the breakdown of the results to include 178 First Class, 4,353 Second Class Upper, 8,607 Second Class Lower, 400 Third Class, 14 Passes, five diplomas, 576 Unclassified, one distinction, 81 Credits, and 39 Passes.

She also revealed that the university’s senate approved 4,045 results at the post-graduate level, including 2,697 master’s degrees, 545 doctor of philosophy degrees, and 804 post-graduate diplomas.

She also mentioned that seven notable individuals would receive honorary degrees in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the university and the nation. Salami stated that four of the honorees were notable former students of the university.

She named the recipients of the honours as Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola (SAN), the immediate past Minister of Works and Housing and the former governor of Lagos State; Mr. Charles Edosomwan (SAN); Mr. Olukayode Dotun-Olukayode; Osaro Isokpan; Gbenga Olu Komolafe; Paul Enebeli; and Betsy Obaseki, the First Lady of Edo State.

The Vice-Chancellor said the honorees would be conferred with a Doctor of Laws, a Doctor of Business Administration, and a Doctor of Science, respectively.

In addition to congratulating the graduates on receiving their degrees, Salami announced that Mike Kwanashie, a former vice chancellor of Veritas University in Abuja, will give the institution’s Founders’ Day and Convocation Lecture.