Governor Makinde to launch a 72-room office complex built using Ibadan Poly’s IGR

Seyi Makinde

IBADAN – On December 15, during its 2023 graduation ceremony, The Polytechnic, Ibadan, will officially open a 72-room office facility that was constructed with its own internally-generated revenue (IGR).

During the occasion, the institution’s radio station—which has an operating licence from the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC)—will also be opened.

Dr. Mojeed Lawal, the chair of the polytechnic’s graduation planning committee, revealed these at a press conference on Monday in Ibadan, kicking off the convocation’s events.

Lawal announced that the office complex, which was finished in three years, would bear the name of Gov. Seyi Makinde, who visited the institution and will also conduct the opening on December 15.

He added that diplomas, certificates, and awards would be given to the 2018/2019, 2019/2020, 2020/2021, and 2022/2023 graduates at the combined graduation ceremony.

Lawal stated that retired diplomat Amb. Ashimiyu Olaniyi would give a graduation lecture on December 13 on the topic of “Leadership Evolution: Empowering Change Agent for a Transformative Future.”

He said that planting trees throughout the campus by the 90/93 set on December 14 would be one of the ceremony’s activities, and that this would improve the campus’s aesthetics even more.

“This current effort is a plausible addition to what alumni and groups have been contributing to support the academic and social development of the institution.

“The institution had received donations, ranging from office buildings, classrooms, equipment, books and scholarships, among others.

“Like Oliver Twist, we are definitely looking for more support from them. May God Almighty continue to be with them all,” Lawal said.

Deputy Registrar for Exams and Records, Mr. Adewumi Ogunjimi, and representatives of Chief Librarian, Mr. Kayode Joseph, were present at the press conference.

Dr. Abiodun Adewuyi, the secretary of the graduation planning committee, and Dr. Bolanle Oseni, the chairman of the committee of deans, were the others present.